The Everyday Jobs of a Campus Event Coordinator: The Pursuit of Success

Alvin Gutierrez
5 min readMay 11, 2021

Northeastern Illinois University

By: Alvin Gutierrez

“For the students, by the students.” This is the motto of my current student employment position on campus. My name is Alvin Gutierrez and I am going into my third year at Northeastern Illinois University majoring in Elementary Education. For almost two years now, I have served as an Event Coordinator for Northeastern Programming Board. Throughout my service, I provide university-wide educational and cultural experiences through recreational programming. I host a variety of social events and community gatherings on special occasions. During weekly team meetings, I also have the responsibility to coordinate interactive, enjoyable activities for the student body. Through consistent engagement, I hope to enhance my work ethic. Simultaneously, I strive to craft positive relationships with the people around me. As a student leader, I have ultimately found my voice; thus, fostering an environment where the authenticity of creativity fosters innovation.

There are a variety of social engagement activities that an event coordinator of NPB has to plan for. For instance, one of our traditions is to host “I Love Mondays.” This occurs every Monday in Village Square, which is a space where students and faculty commonly spend time on campus. During this event, we do free giveaways including stuffed animals, NEIU merch, and even personalized street signs. Now that NPB has gone virtual, we give out free amazon gift cards to randomly selected winners who comment on our social media posts. Pre-covid times, we have coordinated and executed outdoor movies on the campus Quad, late night breakfast, and even brought in T-Pain to perform live during Fall Fest 2019! During the recent transition to remote learning, we had to modify our coordinating and outreach tasks to ensure we meet state guidelines and safety protocols during a global pandemic. However, this did not stop us from planning virtual events for the NEIU community. We wanted to create a space where participants can still socially and safely engage in extracurricular activities. This said, we have done PRIDE virtual bingo nights and virtual Halloween-themed escape rooms. We have brought in special guests like Colombian American spoken word poet, Carlos Andrés Gómez, during NEIU Senior Week. Not to mention, we have brought in beatboxer and live loop station artist, SungBeats, to perform live during the Asian Pacific Islander Desi American (APIDA) Heritage Month. In order to execute these events, there is a lot of planning behind the scenes. However, what makes the job so fascinating is that it simply requires cooperation, flexibility, creativity, and a little spark of imagination.

NORTHEASTERN PROGRAMMING BOARD

In the larger context, I have learned so much as an NPB event coordinator at NEIU. Through a first-hand experience, I have the opportunity to help students and faculty alike engage not only in constant discussion, but in active participation. What is most meaningful to me is to see the smiles on participants’ faces knowing that I have created a safe space where they simply feel welcomed to be themselves. Without a doubt, this is one of the most inspiring student employment positions that I have ever held. I soon realized how grateful I am to have such an extraordinary opportunity to represent my institution. This position essentially allows students to plan events for the student body; hence, our motto — programming “for the students, by the students.” It is ultimately through consistent involvement and participation that I am able to enhance social life on campus. I have met a variety of amazing individuals all of whom I would not have known if it was not for this job opportunity. Not to mention, the forever memorable experiences that I have created along the way is by far unforgettable. Therefore, I have gained both personal and professional skills as a result of this student employment position.

In regards to professional development in my future career, I will demonstrate sincere enthusiasm to promote the values of my institution. Through my contribution to the NEIU community, I hope to encourage others to lead by example. I believe that my ability to communicate effectively with passion and dedication will create a sense of community and belonging. As a future educator, I desire to promote the importance of diversity and student voice in my classroom. Furthermore, I will motivate my students to take leadership roles through involvement in extracurriculars. With the assets of accountability and flexibility, I want my students to master the skill of conflict management and the ability to cooperate. With a more hands-on, communal type of experience, I will authentically network with the people around me. As new opportunities emerge, I develop a broader perspective of the world. Fact of the matter is, success is not only gained through the acquisition of knowledge, but through an educational persistence and desire to learn more. Because at the end of the day, success is understanding one’s internal self through a greater degree of experience and investment in one’s interest.

This essay was submitted to MoreWithUs — Everyday Jobs at MoreWithUs.com for their Summer/Fall 2021 scholarship competition. MoreWithUs — Everyday Jobs is a great platform for people seeking entry level jobs with small businesses. It is free, easy and ideal for young people looking for their first or second job. Traditionally job-seekers are looking to apply for a job. MoreWithUs — Everyday Jobs gives job-seekers the power to market themselves; and gives employers easy access to qualified candidates. If you need a job or know someone looking for a job, check them out. I am forever thankful for this exceptional opportunity. As a recipient of the Summer/Fall 2021 scholarship competition for category 2: College and University, I would like to thank my family and friends who have supported me all my life. I would also like to thank Rae Joyce Baguilat who had first informed me about this scholarship opportunity. And thank you MoreWithUs for all that you have done and continue to do to help students connect with potential employers. I cannot wait to see what the future holds!

One of Alvin’s most favorite quotes is from American Poet and journalist, Carl Sandburg.

--

--